RPB Member

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great love does not exist without joy and without great suffering ,that's why One club is worth only as much as its fans !

Registered
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

To Quote Kevv "French women are so offensive"

lol
    NOTICE: Wager with STB: OVER 2 shots on goal in the First half wins a Pint at HT.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

^^ Imagine how the standard of player in this country would change if development took precedence over results. Just a hunch, as I've no first-hand experience, but the fact is by the time a generation of players hits their teens, they don't even have the basics mastered. Is this due to the level of coaching? Is this due to parents who won't let their kids stay on a team that doesn't just focus on winning?

I don't know really, perhaps someone can relate their own experiences. In my head it goes something like this: a team can get away with route one when they're kids. It's basic, can get a result and most opposing under-10 sides don't have the physical attributes to defend against it. In-and-around puberty (growth spurts etc), suddenly you have a bunch of kids who have never really been taught how to play. They might still be passable within the country, but those who get far enough to play against international competition suddenly find themselves on the wrong side of a hiding.

It's entirely predictable and entirely preventable, but only if there's a will -- not just on the organisation sides of things, but youth coaches, and parents - to stop worrying about results and start worrying about real development.

Happy Canada Day.

RPB Member
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)