PDA

View Full Version : Spraypaint???

cmonyoureds
03-26-2011, 07:48 PM
Ummm, I wasn't at the game, and I'd had a few beers, but I swear I saw the ref spray paint lines on the field?????

WTF???

Tell me Toronto's finest at the game actually did something usefull and charged him with defacing public property?

DangerRed
03-26-2011, 07:52 PM
Not sure if you're new to the game, but spraying a fade-away spray to mark the spot for a free kick happens all the time in very many leagues (especially ones - and i'm sure this is coincidental - with a history of contentious refereeing).

Nothing new to see here.

werewolf
03-26-2011, 07:54 PM
It's certainly new to this league, nice to see it implemented.

cmonyoureds
03-26-2011, 07:54 PM
Not new to the game and I've never seen that before in my life. I'm fairly certain I'm not alone there. What next? You'll tell me I'm new to the game and they're considering goal line technology?

Eastend
03-26-2011, 08:01 PM
I've seen it in a few Euro leagues. Suppossed to help with players creeping up on the free kick.

ArmenJBX
03-26-2011, 08:01 PM
Used in Mexico a lot, saw it in preseason too.
Should become a regular part of the game in MLS

DangerRed
03-26-2011, 08:02 PM
Not new to the game and I've never seen that before in my life. I'm fairly certain I'm not alone there. What next? You'll tell me I'm new to the game and they're considering goal line technology?

Nope, no goal line technology. Spray paint. It's been in use for almost half a decade now, but as pointed out above, I don't think MLS has used it before this year.

Here's some helpful reading, from three years ago:
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=601022&sec=global&campaign=rss&source=soccernet&cc=5901

boban
03-26-2011, 08:08 PM
Well I watched the game last week plus a couple of other MLS games and I didn't see it used.

cmonyoureds
03-26-2011, 08:09 PM
duly noted oh supercilious one. i've learned something new today! still think it's bush league though.

BS1327