PDA

View Full Version : Refs: Stop yer bitching

Pookie
04-27-2009, 07:05 AM
Face it. We like to complain about the Refs... pretty much on every call that goes against us. Even the ones that should have gone against us ;)

Looks like things have evened out.

I got home from the game last night to watch some of the replays that I had PVR'd. Of course, it is not to be rebroadcast in whole or in part without express written consent of Major League Soccer.

It's clear that the ball struck Valez's hand in the box in the dying seconds of yesterday's game.

Over the course of a season, things generally even out. In this case, we likely got an extra 2 points as a result of a missed call.

jabbronies
04-27-2009, 07:09 AM
The refs let alot of things go yesterday and the game before for both teams.

Mark in Ottawa
04-27-2009, 07:41 AM
As a former Hockey referee I can sympathize to some extent with all on and off field officials. All I can hope is that the referee can be consistent and predictable in the way he will call a game. This will lessen the frustration level all around.

The next step is to work on the consistency between different referees so that what is a foul in one game will be a foul in the next.

Yohan
04-27-2009, 07:47 AM
The next step is to work on the consistency between different referees so that what is a foul in one game will be a foul in the next.
i dont think you'll get something like that, even among top refs in the world

all we ask for is individual consistency, so that the players can read how the ref will call the game (is he strict or more lenient?) and go from there

Fort York Redcoat
04-27-2009, 07:49 AM
i dont think you'll get something like that, even among top refs in the world

all we ask for is individual consistency, so that the players can read how the ref will call the game (is he strict or more lenient?) and go from there

bam. Consistency we demand. Perfection would be nice.

ACSertL
04-27-2009, 07:53 AM